Rules

AEGIS Rulebook

Click this image for the most up to date rules. The diagrams are still in progress.

 

Welcome new and old players to the rules and how to play A.E.G.I.S.  It’s simple to learn and reading the field guild will explain base tactics and everything needed to understand the game.  For more experienced players, look here for more complex strategies and answers to more complex rules questions. These rules are close to final but any feedback is appreciated to help clarify and understand the game.

The most up to date rules can be found in this Google Doc.  Help us out by commenting on our newest rules!

Updates Include:

  • Rules for 3 and 4 player
  • Rules for 2 v 2 player
  • Point Control
  • Updated Visuals
  • Alternate Game Modes

Common Rules Questions

  • Q1: Does a successful radial Buff or Debuff Action that affects robots in the indicated Range also affect the Robot using the Action?
  • A1: A Robots Action will only affect its self if you see the “SELF” tag on the Action.  If there is no “SELF” tag, the Robot is not affected.
  • Q2: If the previous (Q1) Action is successful, does it affect the Robot for the next Action or all Actions until the start of your next turn?
  • A2: A Buff or Debuff, is active until the start of your next turn. So it would be for each Action that affects it.
  • Q3: Do Combine Attacks succeed automatically without having to roll dice?
  • A3: Yes, Combine Attacks (indicted by the green “COMBINE” tag) succeed automatically without having to roll any dice.  The robot must be in range to use the attack.
  • Q4: Does Combining remove all Damage from the constituent Robots or is it inherited by the new Robot?
  • A4:  When a Robot Combines, it comes into play with the printed Integrity on the Combined Unit’s card.  Combining essentially works as a heal.
  • Q5: When may a robot use Retaliate? How do Push and Pull affect this?
  • A5: A robot may Retaliate after the opponent has completed the attack by rolling their dice.  The retaliating robot must be in range of another unit to use its’ attack and it must pay the energy the attack requires.  If the retaliating robot is destroyed, it may not retaliate.  The Retaliating Robot does not have to use an Action on the Robot that fired at it.
  • A5b: A robot may Retaliate using a “Push or Pull” attack if you can pay the Energy to use the Action, if it is in range, and if it is not destroyed.
  • Q6: If a robot has Jet, how does it’s Movement Value work?
  • A6: “Jet X” reads as “each Movement/Energy Point counts for X spaces”. So if a robot has Jet 3 and has a Movement Value of 3, it may move 9 spaces for 3 Energy. The Robot does not have to move its full Movement Value.  If a Robot has Jet 3, you may move it two spaces if you choose.
  • A6b: The EXCEL-100 is a special case and has an ability that may increase its Movement Value.  If this happens the same rules apply for “Jet” so an increase of its Movement to 4 means, it may move 12 spaces for 4 Energy.
  • Q7: How does “Pushing” and “Pulling” work?
  • A7:  Pushing and Pulling are Actions that re-position Robots.  Because the game is played on a Hex Board, these actions  may only be used to re-position Robots in straight lines.  These straight lines are determined by the flat side of the Hexes.
  • Q8: What are the Rules for Tournament Play?
  • A8: Build your team of 5 Robots with 2 Robots available as your “Sideboard.” Sideboards are public knowledge.  You may have 5 “Combined Robots” on your team.  The game beings with each of you sectretly choosing a 5 Robot team for that round.  At the start of the Round, the teams are revealed.  Rounds are best 2 out of 3 wins, and in between rounds you may substitute in Robots from your Sideboard.  Each game always begins with two teams of five.  Tournaments are always played on the Hex Board.
  • Q9: Does the commander ability Rogue Intercept last until the start of your next turn or indefinitely?
  • A9:  Rouge Intercept lasts until the start of your next turn.  You may then choose a new legal target or keep the same target.
  • Q10: If a non-damaging Action has Critical (say the SNO-6000s EP Laser: Iota MK3) does the Critical affect the intensity of the effect the ability is applying or simply add 1 damage on to the attack?
  • A10: Critical adds +1 to whatever the action power is. Critical Heal and Critical Energy Damage are Actions that can occur in the game.
  • Q11: If a unit has had it’s accuracy modified, does a Critical weapon use a new target number?
  • A11: If a Robot has Critical on an Action it always occur on a 6.
  • Q12: Does the IKA-100s Move Target Action require they be moved three spaces in one direction/the same direction, or say could you move them one space up, on space up-left and one space left?
  • A12: The IKA-100s Move Target Action means you may move the target robot three spaces in any direction you choose.  You may NOT move them into another Robot, into Terrain, or off the Board.
  • Q13: If a unit with a HVY ability is moved by another unit, can it still fire it’s HVY weapon if it has not moved by itself?
  • A13: Being pushed does not count as moving that Robot, pushing around your heavy units is a valid strategy.
  • Q14: How does “Cloaking” work?
  • A14: The cloaking ability allows you to pay the Robot’s Energy Output, to prevent that Robot from being targeted by all Robots until the start of your next turn.  Regular Movement rules apply after the Robot is cloaked.  Other Robots must move around the Cloaked Robot legally.  The Cloaked Robot may still be hit by Actions that do not target it, like Area of Effect and Armor Piercing attacks (if the cloaked robot is linked up correctly.)  The Cloaked Robot blocks Line of Sight.
  • Q15: Can you target an empty space with a ranged Area of Effect (AoE) to avoid shelling your own guys in melee?
  • A15: You may not target an empty space with a ranged AoE you must always target another Robot.
  • Q16:  How does “Light” work?
  • A16:  A Robot that has “Light” on an Action may; Use the “Light” Action then move.  Use the “Light” Action then use another Action. Use the “Light” Action, move, then use another Action. “Light” Actions may be used anytime you are Acting with that Robot.
  • Q17: When a robot has received a damage buff and uses an attack with multiple successes, is each success buffed or simply the overall damage? (Would an ENDR-1000 that makes all its shots deal 5 damage or 8 damage, for example)
  • A17:  Damage Buffs (and Anti-Air) are always calculated AFTER the Robot has taken Damage.  In the ENDER-1000 example, 5 damage would be dealt.
  • Q18: Are Area of Effect Actions effected by Line of Sight?
  • A18:  Yes, in order for Robots to be effect by AoE actions, the Robot using the Action must have Line of Sight.  As long as the Robot using the Action has LoS on one legal target, the Action may be used, but it may not effect every Robot.

 

Previous Rule Updates:

Rulebook 2.03 PDF

Rulebook 1.01 PDF

Download Mirror on Scribd!

Rules Updates

Version 2.03 published on April 11th, 2014

Version Changes:

  • Quickstart Guide added and then edited
  • P. 7 Definition of the white hexes/terrain added
  • P.18-20 Clarified wording on AA in several buffs/debuffs.
  • P. 20  Clarification on “damage calculation”

Version 1.01 published on February 8th, 2014